INTJ, or Why I Hate Personality Tests

I had to take the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator for a work thing next week.  As a person who majored in psychology and then higher ed., I’m sure I’ve had to take it at least one time before but I have absolutely no recollection of it.  None.  And if you know nothing of the MBTI you may want to skip this entry because it won’t get any clearer from here.

Having no recollection is no surprise because I have to look at my tax return to see what I made last year and have to subtract 1973 from the current year anytime I need to write down my age, so I sure as shit wasn’t going to remember 4 letters and what they are supposed to mean to me.  Not that my memory is bad, but I seem to be unable to retain the things that most people consider important.  I know where I put my car keys (usually) and I pay my bills on time, so I’m not worried.

As I’m answering all these little annoying word associations and “would you rather” questions, I get the sneaking suspicion that I HAVE taken this (and other) personality tests and they royally piss me off.  It wants to fit me in a box and tell me what I’m like.  It also wants to know what I think I’m like.  Then it tells me that none of this is absolute and people go back and forth all the time, as the situation requires.  Then why do you bother to do this test? What is the purpose?  Are we supposed to feel better with our label or set of letters and run off to huddle with other people just like us?  My memory fails me here but I am pretty sure I had an internal conversation just like this in the early 90’s.

Worse still, I get to the end and I can’t even get a definite answer about who I “am”.  Turns out the type I am according to how I answered the vague questions in part 1 is different than the “characteristics and examples” questions in part 2.  The part 1 questions also show how strong you were on each specific letter and three out of four of mine were only “slight”.  So not very.  And I bet I probably skewed those answers without meaning to by becoming so bored and frustrated with the repetitive questions and trying to think of examples where I could actually relate.  My choices became INFP or INTJ – I was asked to read a blurb about each one and choose what “felt more natural”.  One of the sentences did catch my attention though:  “Appreciating others may be hard for INTJs, and they may ignore other people’s values and feelings.”  SCORE!

I actually don’t feel that way about myself, but many people who know me would agree with that statement.  Then I remembered a funny link a co-worker sent around yesterday, about how to deal with one of the personality types (of which we had two so far).  Could it be…yes!  INTJ!  If you’d like to read more about me and how awesome I am (and why wouldn’t you), you may do so here: The Compleat Idiot’s Guide to the INTJ.  For those of you too busy to do that (but with enough free time to be squandering it here) I will give you some highlights of Pet Peeves of the INTJ:

  • Insincerity and lying.
  • People interfering with our alone time.
  • Salespeople. INTJs are immune to emotional manipulation and have zero tolerance for lines of bullshit.

and:  “Sarcasm is a free public service we provide to those within earshot. No need to thank us.”

Of course, it also says we hate superficiality and uses “pimped out cars” as an example, but I’m ignoring that part.  Conveniently,  I think I share personality traits with my newest obsession- the Honey Badger.  I think this must be why I find this video so hilarious – besides this guy’s awesome narration.  Honey Badger don’t care.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in college, Life, Student Affairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to INTJ, or Why I Hate Personality Tests

  1. Mandy says:

    I just had to do this with my class and I’m an ENTJ. It means absolutely nothing to me, but our Career Planning director did a great presentation on it that almost makes it make sense.

  2. jlouisemac says:

    I am a fellow INTJ- I’m just on the “heavy” side of it

Leave a Reply

