FOOD: Pretty Awesome Homemade Hot Chocolate

Yeah, it’s a lot easier to rip open a packet and mix with hot water, but that’s an offense to real hot chocolate.  I’ve often wondered why hot chocolate wasn’t how I thought it should be – thick and creamy, like when Willy Wonka dips his cup in his chocolate river.  No one makes it like that.  But now I can!  I didn’t think to take pictures as I made this, but you know what HoCho looks like, I know you do.

This recipe makes a rich cup of HoCho – still not thick enough for me, but thicker than the usual and delicious.  Worth the whole 5 minutes it takes to make it.  I think next time I’ll add way more than the recommended chopped chocolate and it will be juuuust about right for me.  I made some substitutions (in parentheses) based on what I had or wanted to use.

One serving – double or triple or whatever as necessary:

1/4 c. water

1/8 c. sugar (stevia)

2 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

2 oz. chopped chocolate (I used dark) – you could also do 1 oz. chocolate and 1 tbsp. instant coffee – next time I am going to double the chocolate 🙂

1 c. whole milk (almond milk)

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

First, get your chocolate chopped up so you have it ready when you need it.  Get your milk measured out and ready by the stove.  Get your vanilla ready next to that.

Combine sugar, water & cocoa powder in a small sauce pan over med/high heat and whisk constantly until hot and bubbly (won’t take but a minute or so).

Remove from the heat and whisk in your chopped chocolate until smooth.

Return to heat and add milk, stirring until heated through (do not boil).

Remove from heat (turn off burner) and stir in vanilla.  There you go.  You can pour into cups and top with whipped cream or cocoa powder if you’d like to be fancy.  It will be nice and hot but not so much that you burn your face off.  I imagine it would be a really nice treat if a bunch of kids rolled into the kitchen after playing in the snow until their lips turned blue.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FOOD: Pretty Awesome Homemade Hot Chocolate

  1. lulu says:

    I’m with you….I like real hot chocolate and the addition of almond milk sounds like a winner.

  2. I was kind of surprised the almond milk worked, but it’s pretty thick and it’s what I happened to have. Don’t know how other things like soy or rice milk would work.

Leave a Reply

