In Defense of the Rednecks

We’re watching My Big Redneck Vacation tonight and I just learned that my husband is in denial about who he is.

The show started off with people frog gigging, shooting and jumping in mud, among other pastimes.  He turns to me and asks “Why is that redneck?”  My answer is “Because only rednecks think that stuff is fun”.

“But I think that stuff is fun.”

I am at a loss for words.  This man is so confused about his true identity.  How could he have no idea?  Here’s the tip of the ginormous iceberg:

  • We have three deer heads in our living room.
  • We have two toolboxes that are taller than I am.
  • I can’t tell the difference, but he has work jeans and “dress” jeans.
  • He has tried to remove a dent in his truck with our toilet plunger.
  • There were firearms at our wedding.
  • When our windows were replaced, he kept the weights from the old ones to use on trot lines.
  • When his father accidentally shot a hole through the side of the house from the kitchen (wait, there’s more) he patched it outside with matching duct tape.
  • His t-shirts all feature hunting & fishing or tools & lawn care.
  • When people in SC meet him they often confide to me in amazement  “I didn’t know there were rednecks in the North”

    Gourds

    He wanted to dry these out and make birdhouses or some shit. I tossed them when they got moldy.

I could go on but I think you get the idea.  I married a redneck.  This was not a surprise to me and I have no problem with it.   I enjoy watching the CMT redneck shows.  I like watching Swamp People.  I like NASCAR.  My winter coat has a Realtree camo pattern and my favorite hoodie is bright construction worker yellow.

Rednecks get a bad rap, and I’m not sure why.  In my mind, they are the majority of America but America likes to pretend it is fancier and more pretentious than that.  It’s not.  Rednecks are not white trash.  Rednecks are not stupid.  Rednecks are not a tiny fringe group of weirdos.  What they ARE is a large part of the population who are resilient, friendly, resourceful and know how to enjoy life much better than the “average” “normal” person.

Did I tell you he has wrangled a snapping turtle?

Angry does not begin to describe this relocated turtle.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

