FOOD: Chocolate Chip Oreo Bacon Cookies. Oh Yes I Did.

I think you know by now that bacon makes anything better.  But would it be too much for an already over-the-top cookie?  The reviews are in, and the answer is Hell No.  Bring on the bacon!

Awwwww yeahhhhhhhh...

Like most things I cook and post here, they taste great but look ugly.  That’s all a scheme to keep snooty people away while we pig out.  I will tell you the initial Oreo in a cookie idea is not mine, but I like to think I added that extra something by topping it with crumbled bacon bits.  Real of course – I don’t need to say that fake bacon is a crime, do I?

The ingredient list is easy if you are a lazy slob like me.  A big tub of pre-made chocolate chip cookie dough, a package of Double Stuff Oreos (because why would you NOT use doubles – why do they even sell the other kind), and a few strips of bacon.

I dare you to make fun of my husband's lunch box.

Whoever came up with cookie dough in a tub deserves the Nobel, by the way. SO much easier to grab a spoon and dig in for a few with no messy re-wrapping like with those tubes.  Anyway.  Preheat oven to 350.  Don’t grease the pan, and make two dough balls that you pat until they are @the circumference of the Oreos maybe slightly larger.  Put one Oreo between them and proceed to slap the whole mess around until you get the dough covering the cookie.  It’s frustrating at first, but you’ll get the technique eventually.  It helps if the dough isn’t straight from the cooler, it needs to be pliable.

Don't judge my cookie pan. Yours is probably worse.

I didn’t do this for the pan of cookies above but the next pan got the big guns:  bacon.  Some people actually don’t care for bacon in their baked goods – CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?  I’m suspicious of people like that, but I was baking for more than me so I thought I’d give some variety.  These folks were already going to be overwhelmed by the idea of a cookie in a cookie.  I cooked the bacon and crushed it, then sprinkled it on top of the dough before it went in the oven.  So, like, twice baked bacon.

Bacon. The secret weapon I use to make people love me.

The cookie dough is going to spread out, like cookie dough does, so don’t panic when your cookies end up in the shape of space ships.  That’s the weird unnerving part that I told you about earlier, keeping the douchey bastards away from our heavenly snacks.  I say cook them @15 minutes, but it really depends on your oven and how brown you like your chocolate chip cookies.  These are big cookies – if you think about it, they are really like three cookies in one.  That 36 ounce tub of dough made me about 20 of these monsters.

I would say these are close to the size and weight of hockey pucks. Yum!

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOOD: Chocolate Chip Oreo Bacon Cookies. Oh Yes I Did.

  1. kat says:

    Holy crap that’s awesome! Bacon sprinkles 🙂

Leave a Reply

