We Interrupt This Musing…

…To bring you a story of how some asshats ruined Mardi Gras for one little girl (and her mom).  What I meant to write today was the beginning of my MG report, written mostly for my sister who likes to live vicariously through my Mardi Gras (at least until most of her income isn’t sucked up by day care), and then I ran across this blog post that a friend shared through facebook.  It was heartbreaking and infuriating.  Go on, read it.  I’ll wait.

See what I mean?  Douchebags.

“I don’t feel like I am different than everyone else during Mardi Gras, Mama. During Mardi Gras, everyone is a little weird like me.“

That is so distressing because I know that feeling.  I can ignore it pretty well as an “adult” but it is SO familiar.  Like most people with a heart I read the post, felt it, commented on it.   Then I went to try and take a nap, still being exhausted from the trip and with a case of the MG Crud (which is what we call it when you inevitably get sick from running around in cold weather, live on Luna bars and Slim Jims for about a week, and hug and kiss dozens of people that you only see once a year).  But my mind was racing so here I am.  Thinking about what would have happened if they had been standing next to me instead and the people I watch parades with.  Thinking about where my Muses shoe is and wondering if I can send it to her.  Thinking about what I could possibly tell this girl that would make any kind of difference so Mardi Gras would be magic to her again and wipe that ugly incident from her mind.  Probably nothing, and still my brain won’t stop.  Because even though it wouldn’t help, this is what I would like to tell her:

 

Weird?  Retard?  These are not words that describe you.  These are words used by people who don’t understand the world yet.  They may never understand the world, but you see it and you are able to notice the differences everywhere.  You have a light in you that is bright and wonderful, and that means you will do great things in your life.  Not every person has a light that bright.  Some people have almost no light at all, and they walk around being very confused by people who are not the same as they are.   They don’t know how to appreciate what life is about but I think you do.  That makes you unique, but in the best way of all.  I know it is hard to feel like you are different, but don’t let your light dim.  Many people would give anything to have a light like that, but they don’t know how to get it.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Life, Mardi Gras and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Interrupt This Musing…

  1. Mandy says:

    Wow. What a bunch of douchebags. Do you know if the mom is responding at all to the comments with offers for shoes and her own mini parade? Oh, I hope that girl gets to have her own mini parade.

  2. She is going to the Muses den this morning for the time of her life! Mom will also be interviewed by local news. I still want to send shoes if I get an address. Mardi Gras fanatics will never allow it to be ruined by douchebaggery.

Leave a Reply

