FOOD: Mom’s Granola Cereal

I’m slowly finding my posts in other places around Webland and eventually I’ll get it all together here. Until then, let’s pretend these are new! This happens to be one of my favorite childhood recipes, I was always psyched when mom wanted to make this.

3 cups uncooked (dry) oatmeal
1 cup untoasted wheat germ
1 cup coconut
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup oil
¼ cup powdered milk
2tablesppons brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix all dry ingredients together in a large, shallow glass dish.
Combine the honey, oil and vanilla in a saucepan – heat until warm.
Drizzle warm liquid over dry ingredients while stirring – coating thoroughly.
Toast for one hour at 250 or half an hour at 300 degrees, stirring often.

If desired add seeds, nuts and raisins after cooling. I don’t add anything, and I think the best way to eat it is while it’s still warm and you throw it in a bowl with cold milk.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOOD: Mom’s Granola Cereal

  1. I try to eat oatmeal twice a week now, thanks for the recipe! Never thought of adding coconut!

Leave a Reply

