FOOD: The Furlough Day Bakery – Key Lime Pie

This hasn’t happened to me in a while, but it’s not unheard of in this day and age of budget cuts that the word “furlough” comes up.  Such a dirty word.  Furlough.  Nothing warm and fuzzy about it.  Leave without pay really sucks when you are needing the “pay” part, but what are you going to do?  Better furlough than unemployment.  When we had a round of furlough days at work I started doing some baking on my days off and bringing the goodies into the office.  I called it The Furlough Day Bakery.  One of my favorites was perfecting a Key Lime Pie and I think everyone should know how to do one correctly.  There are many recipes out there for it, but this one made a pie that tasted just like what I ate in Key West.

Image

Key Lime Pie

4 oz. Key lime juice (No, you cannot use regular lime juice. Key limes AND Key lime juice are both  available at Wal-Mart these days.  It makes a difference.)
4 egg yolks
1 14 oz. can of sweetened, condensed milk
1 shortbread or graham cracker crust
Optional whipped topping  (Well, I don’t ever really consider whipped topping to be optional…)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and find a pan to put the pie crust on.
Combine milk and egg yolks first – use a mixer on LOW.
Gradually add the lime juice, taking at least 5 minutes to mix everything to keep a thick consistency.
Pour into pie shell and bake for @20 minutes while scrambling the egg whites for your breakfast.
Chill for several hours or overnight, garnish with lime wedge and whipped topping.

Don’t freak out when you see the pie is YELLOW – real Key lime pie is not green!

Image

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Food, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOOD: The Furlough Day Bakery – Key Lime Pie

  1. Rachel Beth says:

    Yours is still the recipe I use every time I make key lime pie. And by which I judge others’ pies. Gotta have enough of the good tartness to be an excellent version, and I think simplicity is best.

Leave a Reply

