To the MOON, Alice!

Continuing the hunt for cheap records to feed Andy’s free record player sickness, we scored big today at Goodwill.

  • Peter and the Wolf
  • Sha-Na-Na (2 disc set)
  • Jackie Gleason – Music for Lovers Only*

No shit, Jackie Gleason.  Sheriff Buford T.  “I’m gonna barbecue yo’ ass in molasses!” Justice.   And not only did we find the whole album in great condition, we found a 45 of it as well.  What are the sick and twisted odds?  Andy insisted we needed the 45 for decorative purposes.  I think he was high on mildewed cardboard.

“A wisp of cigarette smoke in the soft lamplight, the tinkle of a glass, a hushed whisper…and music for lovers only. This is love’s entrancing setting. For music, in a thousand ways, describes each glowing facet of romance.” Seriously.

Sadly, I haven’t been able to listen any of these gems because it turns out Andy broke the damn needle putting away the 45 adapter yesterday that he ordered on the sly.  I told him we were not spending more than .49 (at a time) on anything for this free item.  But he must have been all flush with birthday cash and totally ignored me because I understand there’s a new needle arriving in the mail any day now as well.

*In Jackie’s defense, Wikipedia tells me that Music for Lovers Only (his first album) still holds the record for the album staying the longest in the Billboard Top Ten Charts (153 weeks).  POW!  Right in the kisser!

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Humor, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To the MOON, Alice!

  1. Rachel Beth says:

    I’m heading to my dad’s house over Memorial Day weekend. I’ll have to take a look at the records he still has and see if any might appeal to y’all, if neither of my brothers wants ’em.

  2. Jess Kilby says:

    So have I ever mentioned my grandma is pretty good friends with Mrs. Jackie Gleason? I think she was his 2nd or 3rd wife. Nicest lady ever. Oh and more to the point… We have a million records that the previous owner of the house Mark bought left behind. I’m sure Mark would be willing to part with some or hopefully all of them.

    • We are actually listening to this record RIGHT NOW. I feel like I’m in a movie from the 50’s and should be wearing something with marabou feathers. But apparently Jackie doesn’t sing – this is an instrumental so far.

Leave a Reply

