So How’s That Nose Piercing? 2 Month Report

It’s still there!  No major disasters, just a minor trauma now and then – usually when I’m half asleep and run my hand over my face.  Although there was that incident in the shower with the scrubby sponge.  That really hurt.

I’m getting antsy to change the stud even though I know it’s too early.  And even though I have no idea how I will actually get a nose screw OUT of my nose.  Yes, I could drive all the way back to the piercer and have her do it for me in about a month (minimum recommended healing time) but dammit – it’s my nose and I’m an adult.  I should be able to do this!  I actually watched a video of someone putting a screw in, so that makes sense, but the out part still seems impossible and potentially really painful.  I mean, the thing has a 90 degree bend in it.  It’s IN here.  Which is what you want if you want it secure and to not fall out while you are sleeping or playing sports (as if) or something.  Part of why I want to change it is that it doesn’t seem as sparkly as I want it to be, but that might be my imagination or the fact that I see other people’s piercing from the side and can only see mine straight on.  It might also be because it’s bezel set and not prong set, which really is the safer choice when you are worried about it catching on something.  I have a little stud collection (that’s what she said) so I really want to try out the 14k gold & ruby one.  I just can’t imagine changing it yet.

I think it’s healing well.  There’s no pain on the outside and only a little sore on the inside, probably from the bent steel pressing on it a bit.  I am still using the H2Ocean spray to clean inside and out 2-3 times a day.  I also try to use warm sea salt water and a cotton ball  as a compress on the outside for a few minutes each night.  This is for what I think is the dreaded “nose bump” .  It looks a little like a blister around the outside of the bottom of the hole and it’s really only noticeable to me.  I’ve read that sea salt compresses help and it should disappear eventually with more healing.  Hey, it’s better than an infection.  To help with allergies I use a sinus rinse in the morning too so I’m sure this helps with cleaning.  I just have been doing that for years anyway.

And to answer Mandy’s burning question about what happens when you get a cold?  I didn’t get a cold yet but my nose is perpetually stuffy and snotty because I live in constant allergy seasons.  So yes, when I am cleaning with the Q-Tip I spin the stud around and have to get some goop off.  But you have kids – I’m sure you’ve dealt with grosser in the snot department.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Health, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So How’s That Nose Piercing? 2 Month Report

  1. Mandy says:

    I may have seen grosser, but I’m not sure I’d want to on purpose. I do love the way a nose ring looks, but I don’t think I can do it.

  2. I suggest leaving it in until you can have a piercer tell you how to do it. I know it’s really exciting, but it really is for the best.

Leave a Reply

