FOOD: Snickers Salad – Sounds So Wrong it Had to be Tried

Today’s lesson:  be careful what you pin – you just might get it.

For a friend’s birthday party I decided I would go to her Pinterest boards because she’s always pinning food.  Figured I’d find something she had been lusting over and bring it for her.  But I’m also fairly picky and not into cooking anything even remotely complicated.  Then I saw a weird picture which turned out to be some monstrosity called “Snicker Salad”.  Egads.  This has GOT to have originated in the South.  It’s essentially candy and apples, with a binder holding them together.  Game on.

The Snickers portion, with a little toffee kick.

I altered some things in this recipe but you gotta have the Snickers.  It’s a must do.  I chopped up a Halloween bag of fun-sized bars the night before (probably @22 ounce bag or @38 bars).  I also decided that it would need some some toffee brickle – kind of like the bacon bits to my candy salad, if you will.  I didn’t use this whole bag, just @ half of it.  There are so many other things in my house that can be made better with toffee bits it seemed a shame to waste the entire bag here.

Then I chopped up 8 green apples.  You need the sour to balance the sweet!

The last thing you need is the binder.  What holds the salad together?  In the original recipes I read there were a variety of gross and/or complicated combinations including vanilla pudding, milk, Cool Whip and marshmallow fluff.  All that seemed unnecessary when you could just throw vanilla yogurt in there and stir.  I mean really.  Let’s simplify our lives.

Your average big tub of vanilla yogurt.

I actually put the yogurt in a giant bowl first and threw the apples in as I was chopping, which kept them from turning brown.

Apples and yogurt.

Then all you do is add the chopped candy and toffee bits – it’s that easy.  I bought whipped cream just in case I tasted it and felt it needed something sweeter, but it didn’t.  I took it to the party in case people wanted to add it but they didn’t.  People were perfectly happy scooping out and eating the salad as is – even the healthy eaters liked it.  As for my birthday friend, she looked a little surprised/apprehensive (she didn’t remember pinning it).  My friends should maybe re-evaluate what they’re pinning 🙂

Oh my. That’s not potato salad!

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FOOD: Snickers Salad – Sounds So Wrong it Had to be Tried

  1. That must be the most scariest thing i’ve ever seen. lol. i would eat that in one sitting.. Did your friend like it?

  2. ethelthedean says:

    This may be the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Must try it!!

  3. OMG. This is making me feel a little sick. I’m not much of a candy or sweets-eater, so my teeth hurt just thinking about it. My friend at work just offered to make a German chocolate cake that she bakes Almond Joy bits into. Perhaps your friend would like that, too? I plan to have other “lunch plans” the day she brings it in.

Leave a Reply

