Is it Mardi Gras Yet?

It’s mid-December and you know what that means…Mardi Gras is right around the corner!

Christmas is nice and all, but come on.  We’re all just really biding our time until the REAL holidays start.  If you’ve never been I must ask – why the hell not?  I hear so many people say “I’ve always wanted to go”, and then they don’t.  They have a bazillion stupid reasons.  I’ve never heard a good reason why someone can’t go.  The most often used:  I can’t afford it.  Really?  You have Starbucks every day.  You chose to drive a Jetta instead of a Neon.  You fly home/to significant other/to Vegas every other month.  You aren’t making Mardi Gras a priority in your life and everyone should, at least once.

It’s not all that expensive either, if you don’t want it to be.  Or it could be ridiculously expensive if you choose.  There are so many levels of involvement and spending possible that I don’t even know where to start.  So I’ll just not, and run down my check list of things I need to accomplish or have gotten out of the way.  If you want to know more about experiencing Mardi Gras, I have a bunch of older posts that cover my experiences and advice, starting with this one.

  • Plane ticket – done (It’s cheaper for me to drive, even if I have to pay for parking, but I’m getting lazy in my old age and willing to spring for a non-stop flight)
  • Hotel – done (Sharing a room with 3 other people is the way to go on this trip if you want to stay in the middle of the action.  Less expensive options would be a hotel in the suburbs and driving/taxing in every day)
  • Costumes – working on it (costuming is always optional but every year I seem to bring less and less of the “normal” clothes and more of the ridiculous fun stuff.  I just ordered three new wigs, which I totally didn’t need).
  • Throws – working on it.  I happen to belong to two small walking krewes and will be around for some of the events, where I would like to have some throws to hand out.  If you are not in a krewe this is optional of course, but it’s so much fun to throw things off balconies and otherwise barter with strangers so why wouldn’t you buy a little?  Again though, totally unnecessary.

Those are my main four planning items right now.  I also have to make sure I have money for food, airport transportation, and the occasional taxi ride, not to mention drinks.  THIS is where people have a problem if they are on a tight budget.  I hardly (if ever) drink alcohol so I’m not spending all that much but some people feel they can’t enjoy the trip unless they are stinking drunk every waking minute, which is not really what Mardi Gras is about.  Well, it kind of is but not to the point where a sober person can’t have a great time.  No really.  Ask any of the 100 or so people I meet up with every year if they have ever seen me drunk.  There might be a whole three of them (and they may not have even realized I was).

So, I’m waiting for three funky wigs from an anime site and crossing my fingers that they fit my little head.  I don’t know dick about anime but I appreciate the crazy-ass wigs these fans can get for a reasonable price.  I’m also updating one of my krewe costumes with new bloomers.  That’s a whole other story though….

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it Mardi Gras Yet?

  1. Mandy says:

    I didn’t drink when I went because I didn’t want to have to deal with the bathroom situation. Actually, the one time I did have a drink was because it was the only way I was allowed to use the bathroom.

  2. Bibliophiled Away says:

    I’m going to Mardi Gras, because I’ve always wanted to go. What suggestions would you have for a first timer?

Leave a Reply

