FOOD: Two Ingredient Pancakes

I know, I know, you are thinking water and instant pancake mix are the two ingredients (smartass). WRONG! These babies are healthy and low carb. Per one serving you are only using one egg and one banana. That’s it! I also add cinnamon and walnuts but that’s just me.

I saw this on Pinterest and thought it would be a good thing to try to satisfy my love of pancakes and waffles without all the empty carbs. I didn’t really think it would be any good but it (shockingly) was.

20130605-183552.jpg

Yup, just mash one banana and beat with one egg. This is a good way to use the ones that are getting bruised and overripe. I happened to have a good mashing tool but a fork will do the job too. The result is not overly attractive and thin, but don’t be discouraged.

20130605-183830.jpg

Get your griddle nice and hot, grease REALLY well. Eggs stick. I use ghee (clarified butter) because I love the taste when I’m baking with it, but use whatever you normally grease a pan with. The pancakes take slightly longer to cook than regular ones, and the sides won’t necessarily look “dry” so be sure to lift an edge once in a while until they are the color you like them.

20130605-184249.jpg

Flipping is tricky, because they are slippery little effers. Make your pancakes SMALL. My first try, I just dumped it all into the middle of the pan. There was no way I was going to be able to flip that and I ate it in pieces. It was delicious but I learned my lesson. I only get the flipper under halfway before it slides so patiently lift and quickly flip over.

20130605-184724.jpg

The end result is sweet banana pancake goodness. I don’t even need butter or syrup for flavoring. They are not fat and fluffy, but still delicious and worth trying.

20130605-184935.jpg

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOOD: Two Ingredient Pancakes

  1. Mandy says:

    Yours still looks thicker than mine was. It was like the banana did barely anything to thicken up the egg.

Leave a Reply

