FOOD: Chocolate Peanut Butter Paleo…Awesome Stuff

Once in a while I find something good on Pinterest that I can actually DO. Today I was rushing around and remembered that I needed to make something for a work party but I kind of had to, you know, work. There was no time to make my usual standby of Pig Candy or bake & chill a key lime pie. So I looked through the board I keep of things I should try and I found a recipe for something called Paleo Fudge.

I’m not a Paleo Diet person, although I respect that we eat too many processed carbs and way too much sugary crap on a regular basis. I don’t believe I need to eat like the cavemen, but since I’m Facebook and Pinterest friends with a few who do I get bombarded with these kinds of recipes. Most of the time I look at them and think how sad they are because you are basically trying to take your approved foods and turn them into the foods you love but will no longer allow yourself to have. I don’t want to live like that. What caught my eye though on this particular pin was the ingredients list. Only five ingredients. That I love. And I actually had them in the house. We have a winner! But I am reluctant to call it “fudge” because that’s not exactly the right consistency. It’s more like a truffle once chilled and ready to eat. However, I do declare it a winner and it gets the honor of moving from the board of things I should try to my board of Pinterest Cookbook. It does have raw honey which I’ve read is kind of in dispute in Paleo circles because its a sugar that doesn’t come from fruit. But going on “eat like a caveman” terms, I’m sure they came across bees and figured out that honey was awesome. Likewise with the substitution suggestion of maple syrup.

1/2 cup of room temperature coconut oil

1/2 cup of cocoa powder (darker is healthier)

1/2 cup of smooth peanut butter (that’s what I used but almond butter is Paleo, PB isn’t)

1/4 cup of honey or maple syrup (I used honey)

1 tablespoon more or less of vanilla

Put it in a bowl and mix it. Ta-da. Seriously, that’s it. Use a spoon, hand mixer, blender, whatever and once it’s smooth and shiny and pourable you pour it into paper lined cupcake tins or straight into silicone baking trays. Then put them in the freezer for 10 minutes or the fridge for 30 (I left mine in for three hours and went back to work so I don’t know if 30 is truly accurate). Everyone at work was loving them and so was I. They had the weight of a Reese’s cup as well as the taste. I was worried they would taste too much like coconut oil but it was almost all chocolate and peanut butter. I used dark cocoa so maybe the stronger flavor helped. I didn’t want to feel like I was eating suntan oil. I kept them on coldpacks during the party so the coconut oil never got to room temp, otherwise you keep them in the fridge or they will probably start to get squishy. Freakin’ delicious.

20130808-173940.jpg

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FOOD: Chocolate Peanut Butter Paleo…Awesome Stuff

  1. Mandy says:

    There’s a bunch of Crossfitters in my office and they all go through varying levels of Paleo. One of them truly subscribes to the church of Crossfit so she’s a bit of a food nazi with most of the people in the office, though she doesn’t bother with me since she knows I’m eating what I want anyway.

    Anyhoo. I agree that there are issues with refined grains so I do try to cut those down as much as I can while still being happy with what I eat. I’ve become a big fan of things made with sprouted grains and there are a lot more of those things out there now so I use those for my grain needs when I can.

    My big issue with Paleo desserts is that they always seem to involve coconut. I hate coconut. I hate the smell, the taste, the texture. I have tried some of my coworker’s desserts made with coconut flour and I can totally taste it. I’ve heard that coconut oil isn’t as coconutty, but I still prefer to just keep it in Henry’s hair.

    • One of my coworkers immediately detected that I used coconut but I haven’t tasted it. And I’ve been eating quite a few of these. I use coconut oil often in baking but that’s it. I can’t deal with coconut milk because even watered down it is still like drinking suntan oil.

Leave a Reply

