The Mardi Gras Post that Almost Wasn’t

Just a little quick post since I haven’t written in a while. Only the usual shenanigans going on around this redneck of the woods. But I have to tell you how humbled I am by the generosity of my friends.

I’m going to Mardi Gras this year, all of a sudden, after I had resigned myself to the idea that I was taking a year off. See, the trip really wears me down and throws me into some pretty high anxiety. It’s NOT a vacation. It’s something you need a vacation FROM. So between the exhaustion I get from just thinking about the yearly trip and paying for a ridiculously expensive Disney anniversary trip coming up in April, it just wasn’t going to happen this year. And I was sort of okay with that, but there was one event I really wanted to be at with my Mardi Gras family. My friends made it happen – they bought enough jewelry to get me a plane ticket and I’m going to try the supershort freaky turnaround of Monday afternoon to Tuesday morning. Yup, I’m nuts. But my friends are nuttier and love me that much. Especially the one letting me crash in her hotel room. A one day Gras this year, which will include the worlds greatest engagement party AND getting up at the butt crack of dawn to see Pete Fountain starting off on his half-fast journey. I might hate myself that morning but it’s cool that even on a trip this short I’ll be trying something new during Carnival that I hadn’t experienced before.

All because my people love me and want to see me at least once a year. We’ll be missing some of the family this year though. Among other things, one friend will be going through radiation and another just got a brand new liver, so there is a LOT of upheaval going around. We are already calling 2015 the big reunion year. But we’ve got to get through this one first.

P.S.: if you are going to Mardi Gras this year and notice any of the @200 people wearing bright green tags, those are Street Drinking Permits. It’s kind of an inside joke, but is an indication that these are good people. You should hang around them because they are pretty wonderful and will only enhance your experience.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Life, Mardi Gras, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

