Guilty Pleasure: Solo Hike

I’m probably the only person working in higher ed. that didn’t participate in a service project today. With deepest apologies to MLK Jr., I know I’m a horrible person. I wanted a day off and away from work/home/students/co-workers. It was a beautiful day for a hike.

2015/01/p1030714.jpg
I need to get back into hiking. I loathe the elliptical and would rather cut my feet off than run. Yoga and Pilates classes on campus aren’t bad when I can make myself go, but they get kind of boring and I have to worry about being fashionable. Nobody cares what you look like hiking. Trekking up and down hills is great for your butt, I can geocache (okay so I’m usually too lazy to fight with the gps), and there ‘s that extra dose of adrenaline when you just miss stepping on a sunning copperhead. Seriously – that was my top concern today because it seems to happen almost every time.

2015/01/p1030737.jpg
Don’t hold me to this but I’m really going to try doing more hiking. I’ve got so many places around my area with trails and I have great Ahnu boots to walk in (which is what happens when your old favorites crap out in Gatlinburg and your only shoe options are at the most expensive sporting goods store EVER.). Two things I need to change to be more successful at this : 1. Get the hiking clothes out from under everything in the cedar chest and 2. Don’t blow all that hard work by stopping at a general store on the way home for a moon pie and RC.

2015/01/p1030719.jpg
So there I am – horribly selfish American, needing alone time and running off to hike.

2015/01/p1030717.jpg

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of Mardi Gras, bacon and marbles. I have the patience of a saint. A very, very flawed saint.
This entry was posted in Health, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilty Pleasure: Solo Hike

  1. Mandy says:

    If it makes you feel any better, we opted for a pajama day today, which Henry somehow equates with having a dance party. But what’s a better way for us to celebrate MLK than with us hanging out as a family that might not have been allowed to be a family in another era?

Leave a Reply

