I May Have a LEGO Problem

I’ve been meaning to write this since Christmas, when it became obvious that I was developing an attachment to LEGOs which is probably inappropriate for my age.  It came out of nowhere on an innocent Tuesday, while window shopping at a giant mall with my sister-in-law.  I thought “oh, let’s go in the LEGO store and play with minifigs”.  I have a deep hatred of all those expensive kits with too many instructions, and reminisce about the good old days of having the chunky, mismatched blocks where nobody told you what you could build with them.  I mean, have you  looked at the pieces in those kits?  Just like everything else, most have been downsized to a third of what they used to be.  A third!  Getting those suckers apart will ruin your manicure immediately.

image2

What I didn’t realize was that there is an entire back wall where I could pick and choose my pieces!  Even better, you fill up the container with as many pieces as you can possibly stuff into it.  Oh LEGO, I thought, you are ON!  If this had been an Olympic sport, my SIL and I would have medaled in it.  Not a gold – the cashier did some cup shaking and showed me where I missed shoving in a few teeny pieces, but definitely a silver.  I appreciated his letting us getting away with all we did.  In any case, I was planning at first to get a cup for my niece and nephew.  Shortly into the cup filling, it became obvious to me that I couldn’t part with them.  Then I decided I could justify the purchase by putting the cup in my office for students to fool with when they come in to talk to me.  Then I decided there was no way in hell students were touching my precious LEGOs.  Ever.

image1

But the cup wasn’t enough.  I needed more.  By then I was out of town and not near a LEGO store but like I said before, I detest the kits.  They are too expensive and come with all these stupid little specialized pieces.  What to do?  Sales and gift cards.  I tried to use every gift card I had to wrangle LEGOs.  I was pleasantly surprised to find some $2.99 LEGO Friends kits at TJ Maxx, even though LEGO Friends are dumb (except the one with the bear and salmon run).  I struck out at Sears because our Sears sucks.  No kids toys at all.  I found Ollie’s having a 50% off sale after the holidays and their prices are cheaper than normal already.  I bought minifigs on eBay.  I trolled Craigslist but everyone wanted too much money or were willing to trade for things I didn’t have.  I did pay full price at Wal-Mart for the Batman/Penguin kit because I had to have the Rubber duck boat and the bitty penguins holding dynamite.

image3

Crazed.  I’ve been crazed I tell you.  But I have found building ridiculous vehicles and houses I will never live in to be rather de-stressing.  Not for my husband of course, because nothing’s more annoying than the sound of someone pawing through a plastic box of LEGO pieces, but for me it’s pretty awesome.

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I May Have a LEGO Problem

  1. Mandy says:

    I’m looking forward to Nora’s birthday so I can build the invisible jet while she works on Elsa’s castle. Check out the Lego Shop online because they did start selling just boxes of bricks without there needing to be a kit involved. And you can earn points, which is always a good thing when you’re going to buy it all anyway.

  2. Welcome to the addiction – you are far from alone. Just enjoy with the rest of obsessed builders.

Leave a Reply

