Why I’m A Business Failure (this week) – The Identity Crisis

Regular readers or people who peruse my Nosy Details page know I have an etsy store because making jewelry is one of my hobbies, and I just can’t stop myself from making shit so I might as well sell it. Sort of.

You hear about those stores where all of a sudden, the thing someone is selling just takes off because it’s mentioned by Martha Stewart or featured in a magazine. There are also some craftsmen who are incredibly gifted and manage to make a living out of what they create and can be their own boss. Then there are rest the rest of us. The vast majority of us. I love etsy because it’s such an affordable way to get what I do out to the world but I am always struggling with my “presence”.

I can’t tell you how many times over the years I’ve retaken photos of all my items, trying to find the perfect look. But my mind keeps changing about what I want that look to be and I never seem to get it quite right.

IMG_7361
Do I want a bright background – does that say my jewelry is youthful?

IMG_7366
Do I want a black or white background – does that say clean and minimalist?

I love/hate looking at other people’s items and wondering how they got them looking so good. At first I set everything on a piece of clear glass over grass outside, for a clean nature girl feel. Hated it. Reshot everything on a mirror. Got bored with it. Most things now are outdoor shots on a piece of slate but I hate lugging everything outside. I recently got a little light box set-up, thinking I could get my pics to be more professional looking and I haven’t been totally thrilled with the results. So I’ve been practicing with different items and backgrounds and at some point, professional lost out to goofy. Because yes, This happened:

IMG_2535

IMG_2532
I started using LEGOs for props. So much for professional. I give up; I can’t be one of those swanky sites where you desire all the pretty things because they look unnaturally perfect. Instead, I seem to be obsessed with distracting customers from what I make by the displays. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?

About deepfriedyankee

I am a parade of one. A seeker of bathtubmarys. A lover of bacon. I have the patience of a saint - but not any of the saints you've ever heard of.
This entry was posted in Craftiness, Jewelry, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m A Business Failure (this week) – The Identity Crisis

  1. Mandy says:

    Personally, I would be drawn to your products because of the legos. I like shops that are fun like that. So I say just go with it.

  2. salpal1 says:

    Nothing is wrong with you. Keep taking whacky and beautiful photos, and I bet your stuff will sell. As for making it like crazy so you might as well sell it? I confess to the exact same problem, so I too opened an Etsy store a few weeks ago. Tagline? SalpalCrafts.. because she can’t help it. Sales are slack, but that is OK, I know it takes energy and time and commitment. Don’t know if I have that, but time will tell. Meanwhile, I think I will go find some whacky sets!

Leave a Reply

